what am I reading and why

ald.read 01

I am reading Karen Duve’s book Anständig Essen (something like eating respectfully …). Basically because I love to think and talk about:  what people eat; and how; and when; and why and blablabla… that’s what my husband call:  “being a boring and ‘monosubject ‘ person” … I mean: is he crazy??? Food and eating are the most plural and interesting subjects ever! Don’t you agree with me???

LARGE PARENTHESIS: (ok, ok, let’s say… life is fool of interesting things! BUT:  just thinking we have to eat every day makes the subject a daily issue! And even  if you want to skip the boring part, you would also have to spend at least a few minutes  thinking about what to have for lunch or dinner, unless you are ready for a very boring ‘every day the same’  life!  But then, if you think about all the benefits and consequences food may cause! Don’t you worry about it? I do … so, that’s just me being me after all… ) BACK TO THE BOOK:

I am really at the beginning, but I thought it was worth to start a conversation! So far Karen who happens to host an ‘activist vegetarian’ at her house, is getting to think about the way she eats. I can say for the preface that Karen will go from this point to bio consumer; than vegetarian, vegan and fruitarian until the end of the book, when she will reach her understanding about eating in a respectful way!

This book was named for “der Spiegel” as some parent of ‘eating animals’ which I loved reading.

Eating animals from Jonathan Safran Foher is a book I definitely recommend!

 It is not a vegetarian party book (the author is not a vegetarian).It is actually a closer  look to the way meat is produced nowadays, and also how meat consumption changed  for the last years.

I must say: It is not about what you eat, it is about what is useful and necessary for you to be healthy, in a fair and sustainable way! That is simply how our great grandfathers used to eat, in a simple, reasonable and delightful way!

dp bye

Leave a Reply

